RSS

Mannequins

01 May
Mannequins

On a recent trip I found myself overnight in Doha, Qatar. After living 10 years in Doha from 1998, spending time there was really not in my plans for my well-earned holiday. Anyway, I digress. The point of this post is that on visiting one of the shopping malls there I remembered that for some strange reason Qatar mannequins do not have heads.I believe this is because of some religious reason but have been unable to find out exactly. This is not the same all over the middle eastern region so I wonder why it is prominent in some Islamic countries but not others? In some areas of Saudi Arabia female mannequins are also not allowed to have hands. Now they must look very odd…. no hands or heads!

                                                            Men (Looking a bit dapper!)

                                               Obviously showing a voluptuous figure is ok?

                                                                            Children

Upon further inspection I actually found two with heads but with no faces . Apparently it is not actually the heads but the facial features that are not allowed.

                                                                   “Look No Eyes”

I think the last two are calling out for a caption. All suggestions welcome.

CommentRight comment care tool

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 1, 2011 in Expat Thoughts

 

6 responses to “Mannequins

  1. Jo Olveira

    May 2, 2011 at 1:59 am

    Number 1 is in a ‘zumba’ pose…number 2 is saying ‘ where did i leave my bike…under a pile of sand no doubt..!!’

     
    • Carole Kay

      May 2, 2011 at 5:26 pm

      Mmmmm and maybe I left my eyes, nose and mouth with it. Bicycles are so well equipped these days.

       
  2. linda@adventuresinexpatland.com

    May 2, 2011 at 3:08 pm

    They are a couple, and both are quietly singing ‘I’m too cool for you’…

     
    • Carole Kay

      May 2, 2011 at 5:28 pm

      And do you know where I left my face?

       
  3. Miss Footloose | Life in the Expat Lane

    October 24, 2011 at 7:13 am

    I love this post – just my kind of cultural (or is religious?) fun.

     
    • Carole Kay

      October 24, 2011 at 3:38 pm

      Thanks Miss Footloose…. Been a bit lax on writing new posts for this blog lately. Glad you enjoyed it.

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 207 other followers

